Halal , Health & Happiness

rules & regulations

Meat & Poultry

Fish & seafood

Dairy & egg

Vegetable & herb

Additives

Meat & Poultry

گوشت و مرغ

It is understood that meat of only halal animals is allowed for consumption by Muslims. An animal must be of halal species to be slaughtered as halal. The animal must be slaughtered by a sane adult Muslim while pronouncing the name of God.

A sharp knife must be used to cut the throat in a manner that induces thorough removal of blood and quick death. Islam places great emphasis on humane treatment of animals. The animals must be raised, transported, handled, and held under humane conditions. However, these are only desirable actions and mishandling of animals does not make their meat haram. Stunning of animals before nonreligious slaughtering is generally accepted in the U.S. and Canada where methods of stunning generally are non-lethal. In many European countries, the type and severity of stunning usually kills the animals before bleeding, which makes it unacceptable for halal. Moreover, dismemberment (i.e., cutting off the horns, ears, lower legs) of an animal must not take place before the animal is completely dead .

 

Conditions and Method of Slaughtering (Dhabh or Zabh)

Dhabh is a clearly defined method of killing an animal for the sole purpose of making its meat fit for human consumption. The word dhabh in Arabic means purification or rendering something good or wholesome. The dhabh method is also called dhakaat in Arabic, which means purification or making something complete.

The following conditions must be fulfilled for dhabh to meet the requirements of the shariah (jurisprudence).

 

The Slaughter Person

The person performing the act of dhabh must be of sound mind and an adult Muslim. The person can be of either sex. If a person lacks or loses the competence through intoxication or loss of mental abilities, he or she may not perform halal slaughter. The meat of an animal killed by an idolater, a nonbeliever, or someone who has apostatized from Islam is not acceptable.

 

The Instrument

The knife used to perform dhabh must be extremely sharp to facilitate quick cutting of the skin and severing of blood vessels to enable the blood to flow immediately and quickly, in other words, to bring about an immediate and massive hemorrhage.

Muhammad said: “Verily God has prescribed proficiency in all things. Thus if you kill, kill well; and if you perform dhabh, perform it well. Let each of you sharpen his blade and let him spare suffering to the animal he slays” (Khan, 1991). Muhammad is reported to have forbidden the use of an instrument that killed the animal by cutting its skin but not severing the jugular vein. It is also a tradition not to sharpen the knife in front of the animal about to be slaughtered.

 

The Cut

The incision should be made in the neck at some point just below the glottis and the base of the neck. Traditionally, camels used to be slayed by making an incision anywhere on the neck. This process is called nahr, which means spearing the hollow of the neck. With modern restraining methods and stunning techniques, this procedure might not be appropriate any longer. The trachea and the esophagus must be cut in addition to the jugular veins and the carotid arteries. The spinal cord must not be cut. The head is therefore not to be severed completely. It is interesting to note that the kosher kill is very similar to the traditional method of dhabh described, except that the invocation is not made on each animal.

Dhabh or zabh is the same word pronounced differently. It means the method and conditions of slaughtering.

 

The Invocation

Tasmiyyah or invocation means pronouncing the name of God by saying Bismillah (in the name of Allah) or Bismillah Allahu Akbar (in the name of God, God is Great) before cutting the neck. Opinions differ somewhat on the issue of invocation.

 

Advantages of Halal Slaughtering

The actual method of dhabh has many advantages. To begin with, the speed of the incision made with the recommended sharp knife shortens the total time to slaughter and seems to inflict less pain than stunning.

The method of dhabh allows rapid and efficient bleeding of the animal. It is also obvious that blood being enclosed in a closed circuit can be removed faster by cutting the blood vessels. The force of the beating of the heart puts the blood into circulation. Therefore, the stronger the heart beat, the greater the quantity of blood poured out.

Fish & Seafood

حیوانات دریایی

To determine the acceptability of fish and seafood, one must understand the rules in different schools of Islamic jurisprudence as well as the cultural practices of Muslims living in different regions.

As for Iran, fish with scales and shrimp are acceptable and are considered halal for consumption. Also, if the fish has scales by nature (any kind of scale) and all the scales fall off it is halal and acceptable. It is also halal to eat caviar eggs of fish with scale.

 

The fish should be caught alive or, if it has left the water, it must be taken before it dies.

As for the fisherman, being a Muslim is not a condition and one can also use the capture of non-Muslims, if only they can ensure that the fish are alive before catching.

 

 

Dairy & egg

لبنیات و تخم مرغ

Milk and eggs from halal animals are also halal. Predominantly, milk in the West comes from cows and eggs come from hens. All other sources are required to be labeled accordingly. Numerous products are made from milk and eggs. Milk is used to make cheese, butter, and cream. A variety of enzymes are used in the production of cheeses. Types of enzymes used in the making of cheeses are very important.

Enzymes can be halal or haram, depending on their source of origin. Enzymes from microbial sources or halal-slaughtered animals are halal. However, an enzyme from a porcine source is haram. Depending on the enzymes used in production of cheeses or other dairy products, the products are classified as halal, haram, or questionable. On the same basis, other functional additives such as emulsifiers or mold inhibitors should also be screened to take the doubt out of milk or egg products.

 

 

Vegetables & herbs

مواد گیاهی و سبزیجات

Foods from plants are halal, with the exception of khamr (intoxicating drinks). In modern processing plants, however, animal or vegetable products might be processed in the same plant on the same equipment, increasing the chances of contamination. For example, in some factories, pork and beans as well as corn are canned on the same equipment. When proper cleaning procedures are used and the halal production segregated from non-halal, contamination can be avoided.

Functional ingredients from animal sources, such as antifoams, must also be avoided in the processing of vegetables. This intentional inclusion of haram ingredients into plant and vegetable products may render them as haram. It is evident that processing aids and production methods have to be carefully monitored to maintain halal status of vegetable products.

 

 

Additives

افزودنی ها

Food ingredients are one of the main subjects of concern. Vegetable products, as mentioned earlier, are halal unless they have been contaminated with haram ingredients or contain intoxicating substances. We have already discussed the requirements for animal slaughter and types of seafood permitted for consumption.

Herewe discuss some of the commonly used ingredients such as gelatin, glycerin,emulsifiers, enzymes, alcohol, animal fat and protein, and flavors and flavorings. Because most of the products fall into questionable or doubtful categories, they require that the majority of manufacturers have their plants inspected and products certified as halal.

 

Gelatin

The use of gelatin is very common in many food products. Gelatin can be halal if from dhabh-slaughtered animals, doubtful if from animals not slaughtered in a halal manner, or haram if from prohibited animal sources. The source of gelatin is not required to be identified by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) on product labels. When the source is not known, it can be from either halal or haram sources, hence questionable. Muslims avoid products containing gelatin unless they are certified halal. Common sources of gelatin are pigskin, cattle hides, cattle bones, and, to a smaller extent, fish skins. For formulating, halal

products use gelatin from cattle that have been slaughtered in an Islamic manner or from fish.

 

Glycerin

Glycerin is another ingredient widely used in the food industry. Products containing glycerin are avoided by Muslims because it could be from animal sources. Currently, glycerin from palm oil and other vegetable oils is available for use in halal products.

 

Emulsifiers

Emulsifiers such as monoglycerides, diglycerides, polysorbates, diacetyl tartaric esters of mono- and di-glycerides (DATEM), and other similar chemicals are another commonly used group of ingredients that can come from halal or haram sources. Some of the companies have started to list the source, especially if it is

vegetable, on the labels. If an emulsifier from vegetable sources is used, it is advantageous to indicate that on the label. Emulsifiers from vegetable sources and halal-slaughtered animal sources are halal.

 

Enzymes

Enzymes are used in many food processes. The most common are the ones used in the cheese and the starch industries. Until a few years ago, the majority of the enzymes used in the food industry were from animal sources; now there are microbial alternatives.

Products such as cheeses, whey powders, lactose, whey protein concentrates, and isolates made from microbial enzymes are halal as long as all other halal requirements are met. Some products made with mixed or animal-based enzymes are haram if porcine enzymes are used; otherwise, they fall in the doubtful category. Bovine rennet and other enzymes from non-halal-slaughtered animals have been accepted by some countries. As more and more microbial enzymes become available, such acceptance will decrease. Use of dairy ingredients in all types of food products is very common, because whey and whey derivatives are an economical source of protein. For the products to be certified halal, dairy ingredients as well as other ingredients must be halal.

 

Animal Fat and Protein

Meat and poultry products are not only consumed as staple food items, but are also converted into further processed ingredients to be used in formulating a myriad of nonmeat food products. In the food industry in the U.S. as well as in other industrialized countries, every part of the animal is used in one way or another.

Less desirable parts of the carcass and by-products are turned into powders and derived food ingredients, and used as flavoring agents for soups, snacks, etc. Animal fat is purified and converted into animal shortening, emulsifiers, as well as other functional food ingredients. Feathers and hair can be converted into amino acids. Such ingredients would be halal only if the animals are halal and all precautions are taken to eliminate cross-contamination.

 

Flavors and Flavorings

Flavors and flavorings can be as simple as a single spice such as pepper or as complex as cola flavor or pastrami flavor containing several ingredients. Some of the more complex flavorings can contain over one hundred ingredients of various origins. Thousands of ingredients can be used to create a flavor. These ingredients can be from microorganisms, plants, minerals, petroleum, or animals as well as

synthetic sources. For formulating halal food products, the manufacturer has to make sure that any flavors, proprietary mixes, or secret formulas are halal and free from doubtful materials.

 

Products

Links

Quick access

Contact Info

Automation

Sitemap

Address : No.24 - Daneshkian st - Valiasr Ave - Tehran - Iran

Phone : 021 - 88909033

Chat room

Sign in

Fax : 021 - 88890858

e-mail : info@halal.gov.ir

Institute of Juridical Jurisprudence

International colleagues

©. All rights reserved by Halal Research Center of the Islamic Republic of Iran

گوشت و مرغ
حیوانات دریایی
لبنیات و تخم مرغ
مواد گیاهی و سبزیجات
افزودنی ها
  • Meat & Poultry

    گوشت و مرغ

    It is understood that meat of only halal animals is allowed for consumption by Muslims. An animal must be of halal species to be slaughtered as halal. The animal must be slaughtered by a sane adult Muslim while pronouncing the name of God.

    A sharp knife must be used to cut the throat in a manner that induces thorough removal of blood and quick death. Islam places great emphasis on humane treatment of animals. The animals must be raised, transported, handled, and held under humane conditions. However, these are only desirable actions and mishandling of animals does not make their meat haram. Stunning of animals before nonreligious slaughtering is generally accepted in the U.S. and Canada where methods of stunning generally are non-lethal. In many European countries, the type and severity of stunning usually kills the animals before bleeding, which makes it unacceptable for halal. Moreover, dismemberment (i.e., cutting off the horns, ears, lower legs) of an animal must not take place before the animal is completely dead .

     

    Conditions and Method of Slaughtering (Dhabh or Zabh)

    Dhabh is a clearly defined method of killing an animal for the sole purpose of making its meat fit for human consumption. The word dhabh in Arabic means purification or rendering something good or wholesome. The dhabh method is also called dhakaat in Arabic, which means purification or making something complete.

    The following conditions must be fulfilled for dhabh to meet the requirements of the shariah (jurisprudence).

     

    The Slaughter Person

    The person performing the act of dhabh must be of sound mind and an adult Muslim. The person can be of either sex. If a person lacks or loses the competence through intoxication or loss of mental abilities, he or she may not perform halal slaughter. The meat of an animal killed by an idolater, a nonbeliever, or someone who has apostatized from Islam is not acceptable.

     

    The Instrument

    The knife used to perform dhabh must be extremely sharp to facilitate quick cutting of the skin and severing of blood vessels to enable the blood to flow immediately and quickly, in other words, to bring about an immediate and massive hemorrhage.

    Muhammad said: “Verily God has prescribed proficiency in all things. Thus if you kill, kill well; and if you perform dhabh, perform it well. Let each of you sharpen his blade and let him spare suffering to the animal he slays” (Khan, 1991). Muhammad is reported to have forbidden the use of an instrument that killed the animal by cutting its skin but not severing the jugular vein. It is also a tradition not to sharpen the knife in front of the animal about to be slaughtered.

     

    The Cut

    The incision should be made in the neck at some point just below the glottis and the base of the neck. Traditionally, camels used to be slayed by making an incision anywhere on the neck. This process is called nahr, which means spearing the hollow of the neck. With modern restraining methods and stunning techniques, this procedure might not be appropriate any longer. The trachea and the esophagus must be cut in addition to the jugular veins and the carotid arteries. The spinal cord must not be cut. The head is therefore not to be severed completely. It is interesting to note that the kosher kill is very similar to the traditional method of dhabh described, except that the invocation is not made on each animal.

    Dhabh or zabh is the same word pronounced differently. It means the method and conditions of slaughtering.

     

    The Invocation

    Tasmiyyah or invocation means pronouncing the name of God by saying Bismillah (in the name of Allah) or Bismillah Allahu Akbar (in the name of God, God is Great) before cutting the neck. Opinions differ somewhat on the issue of invocation.

     

    Advantages of Halal Slaughtering

    The actual method of dhabh has many advantages. To begin with, the speed of the incision made with the recommended sharp knife shortens the total time to slaughter and seems to inflict less pain than stunning.

    The method of dhabh allows rapid and efficient bleeding of the animal. It is also obvious that blood being enclosed in a closed circuit can be removed faster by cutting the blood vessels. The force of the beating of the heart puts the blood into circulation. Therefore, the stronger the heart beat, the greater the quantity of blood poured out.

  • Fish & seafood

    حیوانات دریایی

    To determine the acceptability of fish and seafood, one must understand the rules in different schools of Islamic jurisprudence as well as the cultural practices of Muslims living in different regions.

    As for Iran, fish with scales and shrimp are acceptable and are considered halal for consumption. Also, if the fish has scales by nature (any kind of scale) and all the scales fall off it is halal and acceptable. It is also halal to eat caviar eggs of fish with scale.

    The fish should be caught alive or, if it has left the water, it must be taken before it dies.

    As for the fisherman, being a Muslim is not a condition and one can also use the capture of non-Muslims, if only they can ensure that the fish are alive before catching.

     

  • Dairy & egg

    لبنیات و تخم مرغ

    Milk and eggs from halal animals are also halal. Predominantly, milk in the West comes from cows and eggs come from hens. All other sources are required to be labeled accordingly. Numerous products are made from milk and eggs. Milk is used to make cheese, butter, and cream. A variety of enzymes are used in the production of cheeses. Types of enzymes used in the making of cheeses are very important.

    Enzymes can be halal or haram, depending on their source of origin. Enzymes from microbial sources or halal-slaughtered animals are halal. However, an enzyme from a porcine source is haram. Depending on the enzymes used in production of cheeses or other dairy products, the products are classified as halal, haram, or questionable. On the same basis, other functional additives such as emulsifiers or mold inhibitors should also be screened to take the doubt out of milk or egg products.

     

  • Vegetables & herbs

    مواد گیاهی و سبزیجات

    Foods from plants are halal, with the exception of khamr (intoxicating drinks). In modern processing plants, however, animal or vegetable products might be processed in the same plant on the same equipment, increasing the chances of contamination. For example, in some factories, pork and beans as well as corn are canned on the same equipment. When proper cleaning procedures are used and the halal production segregated from non-halal, contamination can be avoided.

    Functional ingredients from animal sources, such as antifoams, must also be avoided in the processing of vegetables. This intentional inclusion of haram ingredients into plant and vegetable products may render them as haram. It is evident that processing aids and production methods have to be carefully monitored to maintain halal status of vegetable products.

  • Additives

    افزودنی ها

    Food ingredients are one of the main subjects of concern. Vegetable products, as mentioned earlier, are halal unless they have been contaminated with haram ingredients or contain intoxicating substances. We have already discussed the requirements for animal slaughter and types of seafood permitted for consumption.

    Herewe discuss some of the commonly used ingredients such as gelatin, glycerin,emulsifiers, enzymes, alcohol, animal fat and protein, and flavors and flavorings. Because most of the products fall into questionable or doubtful categories, they require that the majority of manufacturers have their plants inspected and products certified as halal.

     

    Gelatin

    The use of gelatin is very common in many food products. Gelatin can be halal if from dhabh-slaughtered animals, doubtful if from animals not slaughtered in a halal manner, or haram if from prohibited animal sources. The source of gelatin is not required to be identified by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) on product labels. When the source is not known, it can be from either halal or haram sources, hence questionable. Muslims avoid products containing gelatin unless they are certified halal. Common sources of gelatin are pigskin, cattle hides, cattle bones, and, to a smaller extent, fish skins. For formulating, halal

    products use gelatin from cattle that have been slaughtered in an Islamic manner or from fish.

     

    Glycerin

    Glycerin is another ingredient widely used in the food industry. Products containing glycerin are avoided by Muslims because it could be from animal sources. Currently, glycerin from palm oil and other vegetable oils is available for use in halal products.

     

    Emulsifiers

    Emulsifiers such as monoglycerides, diglycerides, polysorbates, diacetyl tartaric esters of mono- and di-glycerides (DATEM), and other similar chemicals are another commonly used group of ingredients that can come from halal or haram sources. Some of the companies have started to list the source, especially if it is

    vegetable, on the labels. If an emulsifier from vegetable sources is used, it is advantageous to indicate that on the label. Emulsifiers from vegetable sources and halal-slaughtered animal sources are halal.

     

    Enzymes

    Enzymes are used in many food processes. The most common are the ones used in the cheese and the starch industries. Until a few years ago, the majority of the enzymes used in the food industry were from animal sources; now there are microbial alternatives.

    Products such as cheeses, whey powders, lactose, whey protein concentrates, and isolates made from microbial enzymes are halal as long as all other halal requirements are met. Some products made with mixed or animal-based enzymes are haram if porcine enzymes are used; otherwise, they fall in the doubtful category. Bovine rennet and other enzymes from non-halal-slaughtered animals have been accepted by some countries. As more and more microbial enzymes become available, such acceptance will decrease. Use of dairy ingredients in all types of food products is very common, because whey and whey derivatives are an economical source of protein. For the products to be certified halal, dairy ingredients as well as other ingredients must be halal.

     

    Animal Fat and Protein

    Meat and poultry products are not only consumed as staple food items, but are also converted into further processed ingredients to be used in formulating a myriad of nonmeat food products. In the food industry in the U.S. as well as in other industrialized countries, every part of the animal is used in one way or another.

    Less desirable parts of the carcass and by-products are turned into powders and derived food ingredients, and used as flavoring agents for soups, snacks, etc. Animal fat is purified and converted into animal shortening, emulsifiers, as well as other functional food ingredients. Feathers and hair can be converted into amino acids. Such ingredients would be halal only if the animals are halal and all precautions are taken to eliminate cross-contamination.

     

    Flavors and Flavorings

    Flavors and flavorings can be as simple as a single spice such as pepper or as complex as cola flavor or pastrami flavor containing several ingredients. Some of the more complex flavorings can contain over one hundred ingredients of various origins. Thousands of ingredients can be used to create a flavor. These ingredients can be from microorganisms, plants, minerals, petroleum, or animals as well as

    synthetic sources. For formulating halal food products, the manufacturer has to make sure that any flavors, proprietary mixes, or secret formulas are halal and free from doubtful materials.

     

  • گوشت و مرغ