Halal , Health & Happiness

rules & regulations

Halal & Haram

The basis of banning some foods

Practical requirements

Halal & Haram

General Quranic guidance dictates that all foods are halal except those that are specifically mentioned as haram. All foods are made lawful according to the Muslim scripture The Glorious Quran :

 

O ye who believe! Eat of the good things wherewith We have provided you, and render thanks to Allah, if it is (indeed) He whom ye worship. ( Al- Baqarah - 172 )

 

The unlawful foods are specifically mentioned in The Glorious Quran in the following verses:

 

He hath forbidden you only carrion, and blood, and swine flesh, and that which hath been immolated to (the name of) any other than Allah…( Al- Baqarah - 173 )

 

Forbidden unto you (for food) are carrion and blood and swine flesh, and that which hath been dedicated unto any other than Allah, and the strangled, and the dead through beating, and the dead through falling from a height, and that which hath been killed by (the goring of) horns, and the devoured of wild beasts saving that which ye make lawful (by the death-stroke) and that which hath been immolated unto idols. And (forbidden is it) that ye swear by the divining arrows.This is an abomination… ( Al - Maidah - 3 )

 

Consumption of alcohol and other intoxicants is prohibited according to the following verse:

O ye who believe! Strong drink and games of chance, and idols and divining arrows are only an infamy of Satan’s handiwork. Leave it aside in order that ye may succeed. ( Al - Maidah - 90 )

 

Meat is the most strictly regulated of the food groups. Not only are blood, pork, and the meat of dead animals or those immolated to other than God strongly prohibited, it is also required that halal animals be slaughtered while pronouncing the name of God at the time of slaughter.

 

Eat of that over which the name of Allah hath been mentioned, if ye are believers in His revelations. ( Al - Ananm - 118 )

 

And eat not of that whereon Allah’s name hath not been mentioned, for lo! It is abomination. Lo! the devils do inspire their minions to dispute with you. But if ye obey them, ye will be in truth idolaters. ( Al - Ananm - 121 )

 

Accordingly, all foods pure and clean are permitted for consumption by the Muslims except the following categories, including any products derived from them or contaminated with them:

 

• Carrion or dead animals

• Flowing or congealed blood

• Swine, including all by-products

• Animals slaughtered without pronouncing the name of God on them

• Animals killed in a manner that prevents their blood from being fully drained

from their bodies

• Animals slaughtered while pronouncing a name other than God

• Intoxicants of all types, including alcohol and drugs

• Carnivorous animals with fangs, such as lions, dogs, wolves, or tigers

• Birds with sharp claws (birds of prey), such as falcons, eagles, owls, or vultures

• Land animals such as frogs or snakes

 

From the Quranic verses, the hadith, and their explanations and commentary by Muslim scholars, the Islamic food (dietary) laws are deduced. Additional verses in The Glorious Quran related to food and drinks are as follows:

 

O’ mankind! Eat of that which is lawful and wholesome in the earth, and follow not the footsteps of the devil. Lo! he is an open enemy for you. ( Al- Baqarah - 168 )

 

Oh ye who believe! Fulfill your indentures. The beast of cattle is made lawful unto you (for food) except… ( Al - Maidah - 1 )

 

They ask thee (O Muhammad) what is made lawful for them. Say: (all) good things are made lawful for you. And those beasts and birds of prey which ye have trained as hounds are trained, ye teach them that which Allah taught you; so eat of that which they catch for you and mention Allah’s name upon it, and observe your duty to Allah. Allah is swift to take account. ( Al - Maidah - 4 )

 

This day are (all) good things made lawful for you. The food of those who have received Scripture is lawful for you and your food is lawful for them… ( Al - Maidah - 5 )

 

Oh ye who believe! Forbid not the good things, which Allah had made lawful for you, and transgress not. Lo Allah loveth not transgressors. ( Al - Maidah - 87 )

 

Eat of that which Allah hath bestowed on you as food lawful and good, and keep your duty to Allah in whom ye are believers. ( Al - Maidah - 88 )

 

How should ye not eat of that over which the name of Allah hath been mentioned, when He hath explained unto you that which is forbidden into you, unless ye are compelled thereto. ( Al - Ananm - 119 )

 

And of the cattle He produceth production some for burden and some for food; Eat of that which Allah hath bestowed upon you, and follow not the footsteps of the devil, for lo! he is an open foe to you. ( Al - Ananm - 142 )

 

Say: “I find not in that which is revealed unto me ought prohibited to an eater that he eat thereof except it be carrion, or blood poured forth, or swineflesh — for that verily is foul — or the abomination which was immolated to the name of other than Allah. But who so is compelled (there to), neither craving nor transgressing, (for him) Lo! Your Lord is forgiving, merciful. ( Al - Ananm - 145 )

 

So eat of the lawful and good food, which Allah has provided for you and thank the bounty of your Lord if it is Him ye serve. ( An - Nahl - 114 )

 

He hath forbidden for you only carrion, and blood and the swine flesh, and that which hath been immolated in the name of any other than Allah; but he who is driven thereto, neither craving nor transgressing, Lo! then Allah is forgiving, merciful. ( An - Nahl - 115 )

 

Reasons of banning some foods

In the Islamic faith, Allah is the Almighty God. He has no partners. The first requirement of a Muslim is to declare: “There is no god but God (Allah).” So everything has to be dedicated to God only. There is no challenge to this fact, and no explanations are required or necessary. The basis for the prohibition of the above categories is purely and strictly Quranic guidance. However, some scientists have attempted to explain or justify some of these prohibitions based on their scientific understanding as follows:

 

• Carrion and dead animals are unfit for human consumption because the decaying process leads to the formation of chemicals which are harmful to humans.

• Blood that is drained from the body contains harmful bacteria, products of metabolism, and toxins.

• Swine serves as a vector for pathogenic worms to enter the human body. Infection by Trichinella spiralis and Taenia solium are not uncommon. Fatty acid composition of pork fat has been mentioned as incompatible with the human fat and biochemical systems.

• Intoxicants are considered harmful for the nervous system, affecting the senses and human judgment. In many cases they lead to social and family problems and even loss of lives.

 

Although these explanations may or may not be sound, the underlying principle behind the prohibitions remains the divine order, which appears in the Quran in several places: “Forbidden unto you are…” is what guides a Muslim believer.

 

 

Practical requirements

 

Here's how to enforce the rules .

 

Carrion and dead animals

The fact that eating sour meat is disgusting is widely believed and probably not done by any civilized society today. However, there is a risk of death of animals before the killing operation is completed due to the shock caused by the anesthetic before the killing. This issue is of more concern in Europe than it in North America. The meat of these animals is not suitable for Muslim consumption.

Suitable killing: There are some strict conditions for the killing of animals, including the fact that the animal must be of halal meat species, such as cattle, sheep, etc., the animal must be slaughtered by a mature Muslim, when slaughtering the name of Allah must be spoken, and the killing must be by cutting the throat, The act of killing the animal must be carried out swiftly in such a way that results in complete bleeding and a quick death.

In addition, other considerations should be made, such as animal treatment, giving water to thirsty animals, and using a sharp knife. These conditions guarantee human behavior with animals before and during killing. Sub-products or ingredients derived from animal meat are suitable for Muslims consumption only if animals are slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law.

 

Swine

Pork, lard, and their by-products or derived ingredients are categorically prohibited for Muslim consumption. All chances of crosscontamination from pork into halal products must be thoroughly prevented. In fact, in Islam, the prohibition extends beyond eating. For example, a Muslim must not buy, sell, raise, transport, slaughter, or in any way directly derive benefit from swine or other haram media.

 

Blood

Blood that pours forth (liquid blood) is generally not offered in the marketplace or consumed, but products made from blood and ingredients derived from it are available. There is general agreement among religious scholars that anything made from blood is unlawful for Muslims.

 

Alcohol and other intoxicants

Alcoholic beverages such as wine, beer, and hard liquors are strictly prohibited. Foods containing added amounts of alcoholic beverages are also prohibited because such foods, by definition, become impure. Nonmedical drugs and other intoxicants that affect a person’s mind, health, and overall performance are prohibited too. Consuming these directly or incorporated into foods is not permitted. Foods are broadly categorized into four groups for the ease of establishing their halal status and formulating guidelines for the industry.

 

Meat and poultry

This group contains four out of five haram (prohibited) categories. Hence, higher restrictions are observed here. Animals must be halal. One cannot slaughter a pig the Islamic way and call it halal. Animals must be slaughtered by a sane Muslim while pronouncing the name of God. A sharp knife must be used to severe the jugular veins, carotid arteries, trachea, and esophagus, and blood must be drained out completely. Islam places great emphasis on humane treatment of animals, so dismemberment must not take place before the animal is completely dead.

 

Fish and seafood

To determine the acceptability of fish and seafood, one must understand the rules in different schools of Islamic jurisprudence as well as the cultural practices of Muslims living in different regions.

As for Iran, fish with scales and shrimp are acceptable and are considered halal for consumption. Also, if the fish has scales by nature (any kind of scale) and all the scales fall off it is halal and acceptable. It is also halal to eat caviar eggs of fish with scale. The fish should be caught alive or, if it has left the water, it must be taken before it dies. As for the fisherman, being a Muslim is not a condition and one can also use the capture of non-Muslims, if only they can ensure that the fish are alive before catching.

 

Milk and eggs

From the halal animals are also halal. The predominantsource of milk in the West is the cow, and the predominant source of eggs is the chicken. All other sources are required to be labeled accordingly. There are a variety of products made from milk and eggs. Milk is used for making cheese, butter, and cream. Most of the cheeses are made with various enzymes, which could be halal if made with microorganisms or halal-slaughtered animals. The enzymes could be haram if extracted from porcine sources or questionable when obtained from non-halal-slaughtered animals. Similarly, emulsifiers, mold inhibitors, and other functional ingredients from nonspecified sources can make milk and egg products doubtful to consume.

 

Plants and vegetables

These materials are generally halal except alcoholic drinks or other intoxicants. However, in modern-day processing plants, vegetables and meats might be processed in the same plant and on the same equipment, increasing the chance of cross-contamination. Certain functional ingredients from animal sources might also be used in the processing of vegetables, which make the products doubtful. Hence, processing aids and production methods have to be carefully monitored to maintain the halal status of foods of plant origin.

 

 

Products

Links

Quick access

Contact Info

Automation

Sitemap

Address : No.24 - Daneshkian st - Valiasr Ave - Tehran - Iran

Phone : 021 - 88909033

Chat room

Sign in

Fax : 021 - 88890858

e-mail : info@halal.gov.ir

Institute of Juridical Jurisprudence

International colleagues

©. All rights reserved by Halal Research Center of the Islamic Republic of Iran

Here's how to enforce the rules .

  • Halal & Haram

    General Quranic guidance dictates that all foods are halal except those that are specifically mentioned as haram. All foods are made lawful according to the Muslim scripture The Glorious Quran :

     

    O ye who believe! Eat of the good things wherewith We have provided you, and render thanks to Allah, if it is (indeed) He whom ye worship. ( Al- Baqarah - 172 )

     

    The unlawful foods are specifically mentioned in The Glorious Quran in the following verses:

     

    He hath forbidden you only carrion, and blood, and swine flesh, and that which hath been immolated to (the name of) any other than Allah…( Al- Baqarah - 173 )

     

    Forbidden unto you (for food) are carrion and blood and swine flesh, and that which hath been dedicated unto any other than Allah, and the strangled, and the dead through beating, and the dead through falling from a height, and that which hath been killed by (the goring of) horns, and the devoured of wild beasts saving that which ye make lawful (by the death-stroke) and that which hath been immolated unto idols. And (forbidden is it) that ye swear by the divining arrows.This is an abomination… ( Al - Maidah - 3 )

     

    Consumption of alcohol and other intoxicants is prohibited according to the following verse:

    O ye who believe! Strong drink and games of chance, and idols and divining arrows are only an infamy of Satan’s handiwork. Leave it aside in order that ye may succeed. ( Al - Maidah - 90 )

     

    Meat is the most strictly regulated of the food groups. Not only are blood, pork, and the meat of dead animals or those immolated to other than God strongly prohibited, it is also required that halal animals be slaughtered while pronouncing the name of God at the time of slaughter.

     

    Eat of that over which the name of Allah hath been mentioned, if ye are believers in His revelations. ( Al - Ananm - 118 )

     

    And eat not of that whereon Allah’s name hath not been mentioned, for lo! It is abomination. Lo! the devils do inspire their minions to dispute with you. But if ye obey them, ye will be in truth idolaters. ( Al - Ananm - 121 )

     

    Accordingly, all foods pure and clean are permitted for consumption by the Muslims except the following categories, including any products derived from them or contaminated with them:

     

    • Carrion or dead animals

    • Flowing or congealed blood

    • Swine, including all by-products

    • Animals slaughtered without pronouncing the name of God on them

    • Animals killed in a manner that prevents their blood from being fully drained

    from their bodies

    • Animals slaughtered while pronouncing a name other than God

    • Intoxicants of all types, including alcohol and drugs

    • Carnivorous animals with fangs, such as lions, dogs, wolves, or tigers

    • Birds with sharp claws (birds of prey), such as falcons, eagles, owls, or vultures

    • Land animals such as frogs or snakes

     

    From the Quranic verses, the hadith, and their explanations and commentary by Muslim scholars, the Islamic food (dietary) laws are deduced. Additional verses in The Glorious Quran related to food and drinks are as follows:

     

    O’ mankind! Eat of that which is lawful and wholesome in the earth, and follow not the footsteps of the devil. Lo! he is an open enemy for you. ( Al- Baqarah - 168 )

     

    Oh ye who believe! Fulfill your indentures. The beast of cattle is made lawful unto you (for food) except… ( Al - Maidah - 1 )

     

    They ask thee (O Muhammad) what is made lawful for them. Say: (all) good things are made lawful for you. And those beasts and birds of prey which ye have trained as hounds are trained, ye teach them that which Allah taught you; so eat of that which they catch for you and mention Allah’s name upon it, and observe your duty to Allah. Allah is swift to take account. ( Al - Maidah - 4 )

     

    This day are (all) good things made lawful for you. The food of those who have received Scripture is lawful for you and your food is lawful for them… ( Al - Maidah - 5 )

     

    Oh ye who believe! Forbid not the good things, which Allah had made lawful for you, and transgress not. Lo Allah loveth not transgressors. ( Al - Maidah - 87 )

     

    Eat of that which Allah hath bestowed on you as food lawful and good, and keep your duty to Allah in whom ye are believers. ( Al - Maidah - 88 )

     

    How should ye not eat of that over which the name of Allah hath been mentioned, when He hath explained unto you that which is forbidden into you, unless ye are compelled thereto. ( Al - Ananm - 119 )

     

    And of the cattle He produceth production some for burden and some for food; Eat of that which Allah hath bestowed upon you, and follow not the footsteps of the devil, for lo! he is an open foe to you. ( Al - Ananm - 142 )

     

    Say: “I find not in that which is revealed unto me ought prohibited to an eater that he eat thereof except it be carrion, or blood poured forth, or swineflesh — for that verily is foul — or the abomination which was immolated to the name of other than Allah. But who so is compelled (there to), neither craving nor transgressing, (for him) Lo! Your Lord is forgiving, merciful. ( Al - Ananm - 145 )

     

    So eat of the lawful and good food, which Allah has provided for you and thank the bounty of your Lord if it is Him ye serve. ( An - Nahl - 114 )

     

    He hath forbidden for you only carrion, and blood and the swine flesh, and that which hath been immolated in the name of any other than Allah; but he who is driven thereto, neither craving nor transgressing, Lo! then Allah is forgiving, merciful. ( An - Nahl - 115 )

     

  • The basis of banning some foods

    In the Islamic faith, Allah is the Almighty God. He has no partners. The first requirement of a Muslim is to declare: “There is no god but God (Allah).” So everything has to be dedicated to God only. There is no challenge to this fact, and no explanations are required or necessary. The basis for the prohibition of the above categories is purely and strictly Quranic guidance. However, some scientists have attempted to explain or justify some of these prohibitions based on their scientific understanding as follows:

     

    • Carrion and dead animals are unfit for human consumption because the decaying process leads to the formation of chemicals which are harmful to humans.

    • Blood that is drained from the body contains harmful bacteria, products of metabolism, and toxins.

    • Swine serves as a vector for pathogenic worms to enter the human body. Infection by Trichinella spiralis and Taenia solium are not uncommon. Fatty acid composition of pork fat has been mentioned as incompatible with the human fat and biochemical systems.

    • Intoxicants are considered harmful for the nervous system, affecting the senses and human judgment. In many cases they lead to social and family problems and even loss of lives.

     

    Although these explanations may or may not be sound, the underlying principle behind the prohibitions remains the divine order, which appears in the Quran in several places: “Forbidden unto you are…” is what guides a Muslim believer.

     

  • Practical requirement

    لبنیات و تخم مرغ

    Here's how to enforce the rules .

     

    Carrion and dead animals

    The fact that eating sour meat is disgusting is widely believed and probably not done by any civilized society today. However, there is a risk of death of animals before the killing operation is completed due to the shock caused by the anesthetic before the killing. This issue is of more concern in Europe than it in North America. The meat of these animals is not suitable for Muslim consumption.

    Suitable killing: There are some strict conditions for the killing of animals, including the fact that the animal must be of halal meat species, such as cattle, sheep, etc., the animal must be slaughtered by a mature Muslim, when slaughtering the name of Allah must be spoken, and the killing must be by cutting the throat, The act of killing the animal must be carried out swiftly in such a way that results in complete bleeding and a quick death.

    In addition, other considerations should be made, such as animal treatment, giving water to thirsty animals, and using a sharp knife. These conditions guarantee human behavior with animals before and during killing. Sub-products or ingredients derived from animal meat are suitable for Muslims consumption only if animals are slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law.

     

    Swine

    Pork, lard, and their by-products or derived ingredients are categorically prohibited for Muslim consumption. All chances of crosscontamination from pork into halal products must be thoroughly prevented. In fact, in Islam, the prohibition extends beyond eating. For example, a Muslim must not buy, sell, raise, transport, slaughter, or in any way directly derive benefit from swine or other haram media.

     

    Blood

    Blood that pours forth (liquid blood) is generally not offered in the marketplace or consumed, but products made from blood and ingredients derived from it are available. There is general agreement among religious scholars that anything made from blood is unlawful for Muslims.

     

    Alcohol and other intoxicants

    Alcoholic beverages such as wine, beer, and hard liquors are strictly prohibited. Foods containing added amounts of alcoholic beverages are also prohibited because such foods, by definition, become impure. Nonmedical drugs and other intoxicants that affect a person’s mind, health, and overall performance are prohibited too. Consuming these directly or incorporated into foods is not permitted. Foods are broadly categorized into four groups for the ease of establishing their halal status and formulating guidelines for the industry.

     

    Meat and poultry

    This group contains four out of five haram (prohibited) categories. Hence, higher restrictions are observed here. Animals must be halal. One cannot slaughter a pig the Islamic way and call it halal. Animals must be slaughtered by a sane Muslim while pronouncing the name of God. A sharp knife must be used to severe the jugular veins, carotid arteries, trachea, and esophagus, and blood must be drained out completely. Islam places great emphasis on humane treatment of animals, so dismemberment must not take place before the animal is completely dead.

     

    Fish and seafood

    To determine the acceptability of fish and seafood, one must understand the rules in different schools of Islamic jurisprudence as well as the cultural practices of Muslims living in different regions.

    As for Iran, fish with scales and shrimp are acceptable and are considered halal for consumption. Also, if the fish has scales by nature (any kind of scale) and all the scales fall off it is halal and acceptable. It is also halal to eat caviar eggs of fish with scale. The fish should be caught alive or, if it has left the water, it must be taken before it dies. As for the fisherman, being a Muslim is not a condition and one can also use the capture of non-Muslims, if only they can ensure that the fish are alive before catching.

     

    Milk and eggs

    From the halal animals are also halal. The predominantsource of milk in the West is the cow, and the predominant source of eggs is the chicken. All other sources are required to be labeled accordingly. There are a variety of products made from milk and eggs. Milk is used for making cheese, butter, and cream. Most of the cheeses are made with various enzymes, which could be halal if made with microorganisms or halal-slaughtered animals. The enzymes could be haram if extracted from porcine sources or questionable when obtained from non-halal-slaughtered animals. Similarly, emulsifiers, mold inhibitors, and other functional ingredients from nonspecified sources can make milk and egg products doubtful to consume.

     

    Plants and vegetables

    These materials are generally halal except alcoholic drinks or other intoxicants. However, in modern-day processing plants, vegetables and meats might be processed in the same plant and on the same equipment, increasing the chance of cross-contamination. Certain functional ingredients from animal sources might also be used in the processing of vegetables, which make the products doubtful. Hence, processing aids and production methods have to be carefully monitored to maintain the halal status of foods of plant origin.

     

     

  • لبنیات و تخم مرغ